collinbryant

Just another WordPress.com site

Ending blog April 30, 2012

Filed under: PRCA 3330 — collinbryant @ 8:22 am

It’s that time of the semester.  This week I ask that you reflect on the semester. What were the highs and the lows? What would you want to change & why? What have you learned that you will take with you into the next semester? For those of you who are graduating, what will you take with you into your first job outside college?

I have really enjoyed this class this semester.  I have learned so much about the field of PR and I feel so much more prepared going into my internship this summer.  I think the low of this class was when I missed the first assignment.  I was so used to things being due on Friday and Sunday that I completely overlooked the assignment.  That is when I had a panic moment.  The high of this class was getting my first 20 on an assignment.  I just couldn’t get higher than an 18!

There is nothing that I would change about this class.  I think the fact that it is online is really great because we learn the material just as well in our homes as we would in a classroom.  I have learned a lot and have a lot of material to put in my portfolio.

I have learned lots of PR writing skills that I will always take with me.  I know how to write a proper press release, media advisory, fact sheet, etc.  I also know some great tips on business cards and interviewing thanks to my office visits with Professor Groover!

Overall this has been my favorite class of college because I have actually learned so much!  this is the first class that I have really learned something about the profession I have chosen to be in.

 

3 Responses to “Ending blog”

  1. emilyglass91 Says:

    I agree that this is the first PR class that I have actually learned something in and I will take it with me forever. Perfecting the art of writing a press release will also help me with my summer internship. From the looks of things, press releases are a huge part of my job.

  2. I agree too!! The material that I learned from this class will be something that I will be able to carry with me not only though my college career but also into my business career as well!! It has been a great learning experience! 🙂 Have a great summer!!

  3. ramborodd Says:

    My office visits with her consisted of her trying to one up everything I would say. I missed an assignment because it was on Wednesday and not on Friday or Sunday. Have a fun summer.


Leave a comment