collinbryant

Just another WordPress.com site

Blog #1 Portrayals of PR practitioners from movies and TV September 7, 2011

Filed under: PRCA 2330 — collinbryant @ 7:10 am

I chose to follow a course study in Public Relations after I saw the movie “Valentines Day”.  I know that sounds like a completely vapid way of choosing a major but it worked for me and it works for the topic of this blog.  I thought Jessica Biel and Queen Latifah (who were PR practitioners in the movie) had a really interesting job.  They were always on the go, always in demand, and always had the right ideas on how to repair a crisis.  “Valentines Day” portrayed Jessica Biel and Queen Latifah’s characters as the public relations practitioners to be on top of their game, high powered, and needed.  They had, in my eyes, a very interesting and exciting job.  I went to the CLASS office the next day and changed my major from History to Public Relations.  I knew I didn’t want to deal with celebrities as a PR practitioner, but I knew that whatever I did it would be exciting and always changing (as the movie portrayed it to be).  I was pulled into what the movie made the PR practitioner to be.  Luckily for me I love learning about the field of PR and know that I will love whatever job in the field I eventually get.

So, why did “Valentines Day” portray Queen Latifah and Jessica Biel’s characters as a PR practitioner to be this way?  The model that relates most to their characters would be the publicist.  They are representing an athlete and all that goes along with that.  They have to do damage control when he messes up so they usually talk on all the wonderful things he does as an athlete, therefore hyping him up to help the public forget and forget his follies.  Movies usually only show PR practitioners to be publicists for some high profile characters.  I don’t know why that would be but I assume they keep doing it as a “monkey see monkey do” type response.

There is also the portrayal of the PR practitioner as a sleazebag who only cares about getting ahead.  The film and television world (at least what I have seen) has no real lean to one side or the other when it comes to portraying PR practitioners as jerks or high-powered females.  That is why the two links I have show both sides of the PR practitioners I have seen on the big and small screen.

Here are some links to some clips of Jessica Biel and Queen Latifah as PR practitioners in the movie “Valentines Day”:

Watch this one through 59 seconds: http://youtu.be/E_wUrAXTbPo

http://thinkwritenow.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/the-sad-pr-portrayal-in-movies/

 

2 Responses to “Blog #1 Portrayals of PR practitioners from movies and TV”

  1. vixenchanted Says:

    This was very interesting to learn that a movie like Valentine’s Day would influence you to make such a serious decision like changing your major. I agree with you when you say that the movie definitely portrayed PR practitioners as leading interesting lives. Both of those characters were very likable characters by the end of the movie. I think you make a good point when you say “The film and television world (at least what I have seen) has no real lean to one side or the other when it comes to portraying PR practitioners as jerks or high-powered females.” I believe they have to belong to either extreme to make a good dramatic story, and people are unsure of how to think of practitioners.


Leave a Reply

